Image Description Here

World's Finest Cultured Pearls

Cultured Pearls come in a range of qualities. Only the best pearls in the world are destined to become MIKIMOTO gems. Always rely on a reputable jeweller - such as an authorised MIKIMOTO dealer - when you are buying pearls.

The following sections will give you some helpful guidelines as you choose your ideal piece from the finest collection of luxury pearl jewellery in the world.

Pearl Qualities

As the Originator of Cultured Pearls, MIKIMOTO maintains the strictest quality grading standards. Each pearl harvested is as individual as a fingerprint. Here are the five factors we use to assess quality.

Lustre is the amount of light a pearl reflects from both its surface glow and the deep mirror-like reflection of its inner light. The better the nacre quality of the pearl, the more superior its lustre. Only the highest quality pearls with the most luminous lustre carry the MIKIMOTO name.

Subtle blemishes and tiny marks are part of a pearl’s natural texture and proof of its genuine origin. These blemishes are the result of sea particles that drift into the oyster and brush against the pearl as it forms. Fewer surface imperfections denote a higher quality, more valuable pearl.

Of the many shapes available, perfectly round pearls are the rarest and most valuable. With MIKIMOTO’s South Sea cultured pearls, unique shapes like button, tear drop, oval and baroque are also popular.

Pearls vary widely in colour based on the type of oyster that produces them. The rarer the shade, the more valuable the pearl. Colours range from cream, pink and grey to black, green and blue. White and pink rosé are among the most popular Akoya colours; peacock green and gold are among the rarest South Sea shades. While colour choice is a matter of personal preference, always look for rich colour, evenly distributed throughout the pearl.

While size does not affect the quality of cultured pearls, it does affect the price. Large pearls are more difficult to cultivate and their rarity makes them more valuable. Pearls are measured in diameter increments of millimeters (mm). The classic Akoya cultured pearl generally ranges from 3mm to 10mm. South Sea cultured pearls begin at 8mm and can grow as large as 18mm

Pearl Types

Akoya pearl

akoya cultured pearl

History

Prized for their brilliant lustre and rich colour, Akoya pearls are a traditional symbol of elegance and beauty. Produced by Japan's Akoya oysters, they are the most popular of all pearl types. Depending on the size of the mother oyster, they grow from 3-10mm. Colours range from white, cream and pink to light green, blue and silver.

VIEW akoya PIECES
 
Black shout sea pearl

black south sea

History

The breathtaking colour of these naturally black pearls is produced by black-lipped oysters in the waters off Tahiti and Okinawa. Sizes begin at 8mm, in round, oval, teardrop or unique baroque shapes. While characterised as black, the rich, dark colours actually range from slate grey, silver and pistachio to peacock green and midnight black with overtones of green, rosé or blue.

VIEW black south sea PIECES
 
Image Description Here

white south sea

History

The magnificent, satiny lustre of these fantastic white pearls is produced by the silver-lipped South Sea oyster. Their subdued opalescent appearance subtly changes under different light conditions, making them a constant marvel to behold. Harvested in sizes from 9mm up, their shapes range from round, oval or teardrop to free-form baroque.

VIEW white south sea PIECES
 
Image Description Here

golden south sea

History

These opulent pearls are produced by the golden-lipped oyster. Their warm, natural golden colour is said to be rarer than gold itself. The colour palette ranges from light champagne to a very rare, deep gold. This oyster species can also produce richly luminescent white pearls, but the deeper golden colours are the most coveted of all pearls. Harvested in sizes of 9mm and up, in round, oval, teardrop or beautiful baroque shapes.

VIEW golden south sea PIECES
 
Image Description Here

conch

History

These natural pearls are harvested from the Queen conch, a large marine snail with a heavy, lustrous shell which lives in the Caribbean and the Gulf of Mexico. The highest-quality examples of Conch pearls are characterised by a distinctive “flame structure” that gives the appearance of a fire burning on the surface.


 
Image Description Here

baroque

History

The natural beauty of MIKIMOTO's Baroque South Sea cultured pearls is derived from their superb lustre and beautifully asymmetric silhouettes. The unique, organic shapes of these pearls make them a true fashion statement. Each gem, seemingly a polar opposite of the traditional round pearl, is a conversation piece.

VIEW baroque PIECES
 
Previous:
Next:

Choose a Strand Length

A few simple considerations will help you pick the right strand length for your personal style... and lifestyle.

BROWSE STRANDS
Image Description Here

For Women of All Ages

Women in their 20s often start their collection with shorter strands and smaller pearls which nestle near the base of the throat. Consider the Choker and Princess lengths to optimise your youthful fashion look.

Women in their 30s and beyond may prefer the fashion impact of longer lengths of pearl necklaces and larger pearls, which add drama while beautifully illuminating the face. Opera and Rope are enjoyed for their versatility, as they can be doubled or tripled around the neck.

A Simple Guideline

If in doubt, use this simple guideline: longer strands of bigger pearls make a more dramatic fashion statement; shorter strands, while classic and elegant, can easily be dressed "up" or "down" for casual occasions. So if you're sporty, go shorter; sophisticated, go long.

Still can't decide? Opt for the mid-length Princess strand, which flatters every lifestyle and body type.

Fashion Note

Today's modern jewellery trend is layering, so do not hesitate to mix your lovely MIKIMOTO strands with other necklaces of different lengths, colours and materials. The look you create will be personal and unique.

What day and time works for you?

We need just a little information from you:

What is your communication preference?

What would you like to discuss?

We will follow up with you by email

Image Description ici      
     
        

Les Plus Belles Perles de Culture Au Monde

        

Les perles de culture ont diverses qualités. Seules les plus belles perles au monde sont destinées à devenir des gemmes MIKIMOTO. Ne faites confiance qu'à un bijoutier de renom - tel qu'un revendeur agréé MIKIMOTO - lorsque vous achetez des perles.

Les paragraphes suivants vous donnent des conseils utiles lorsque vous choisissez votre bijou idéal parmi la plus belle collection MIKIMOTO.

     
  
     
        

Qualité des Perles

        

En tant que créateur de la perle de culture, MIKIMOTO observe des normes des plus strictes. Chaque perle récoltée est aussi unique qu'une empreinte digitale. Voici les cinq facteurs servant à évaluer la qualité d’une perle.

     
     
        
                    
        
              

Le lustre est la quantité de lumière que reflète une perle... soit non seulement le reflet brillant de la surface d'une perle, mais aussi la lumière s'immisçant au sein des différentes couches de nacre. Plus la qualité de la nacre est bonne, plus le lustre est intense. Seules les perles d’excellente qualité dotées d’un lustre d’exception portent le nom MIKIMOTO.

              

La présence d’irrégularités et d’imperfections subtiles font parties de la texture naturelle d’une perle et prouvent son origine organique. Ces imperfections sont le résultat des particules de la mer qui frôlent la perle pendant que celle-ci se forme. Une surface lisse indique une belle qualité de perle, donc une perle plus précieuse.

              

De toutes formes, les perles parfaitement rondes sont les plus rares et ont le plus de valeur. En ce qui concerne les perles des Mers du Sud MIKIMOTO, les formes  de bouton, de goutte, ovales et baroques sont également très prisées.

              

Les couleurs des perles sont très variées et résultent du type d’huître qui les produit. Plus la nuance est rare, plus la perle a de la valeur. Les couleurs de perles varient du crème, rose, gris au noir, vert et bleu. Les perles Akoya de couleur blanche et rosée sont les plus connues ; les perles des Mers du Sud de couleurs vert paon et dorée sont les plus rares. Bien que le choix de la couleur soit personnel, optez toujours pour une couleur soutenue et homogène.

              

La taille de la perle n’est pas une indication de qualité, mais les perles d'un beau diamètre valent plus cher. Les grosses perles sont en effet plus difficiles à cultiver ; étant donné leur rareté, elles ont plus de valeur. Les perles sont mesurées en millimètres (mm) selon leur diamètre. Une perle Akoya mesure généralement entre 3 mm et 10 mm. Les perles des Mers du Sud mesurent entre 8 mm et 18 mm.

        
     
     
  
     
        

TYPES DE PERLES

     
     
        
           
                 
                     Image Description ici                     

Perles de culture Akoya

                    

Histoire

                    

Prisées pour leur brillance et la richesse de leurs couleurs, les perles de culture Akoya sont un symbole traditionnel d'élégance et de beauté. Produites par les huîtres japonaises Akoya, ce sont les perles les plus connues. Leur diamètre varie de 3 à 10 mm selon l'huître reproductrice. Leurs couleurs vont du blanc, crème et rosé au vert clair, bleu et argent.


                   
                 
                                         

Perles de culture noires des Mers du Sud

                    

Histoire

                    

La saisissante couleur de ces perles noires naturelles provient des huîtres Pinctada Margaritifera, « à lèvre noire », au large de Tahiti et d'Okinawa. Rondes, ovales, en goutte d'eau ou d'une forme baroque unique, elles mesurent 8 mm et plus. Bien qu'on les appelle « noires », leur couleur, sombre et dense, va du gris ardoise au vert pistache, en passant par l'argenté, le vert paon ou le noir profond, avec des reflets verts, rosés ou bleus.


                   
                 
                     Image Description ici                     

Perles de culture blanches des Mers du Sud

                    

Histoire

                    

Le magnifique lustre satiné de ces fabuleuses perles blanches est produit par les huîtres Pinctada Maxima « à lèvre argentée ». Opalescentes, elles changent d'aspect de manière subtile suivant l'éclairage, ce qui en fait un objet d'émerveillement constant. Elles sont récoltées à une taille de 9 mm ou plus, et peuvent être rondes, ovales, en goutte d'eau ou d'une forme baroque.


                   
                 
                     Image Description ici                     

Perles de culture Gold des Mers du Sud

                    

Histoire

                    

Ces perles sont produites par les huîtres Pinctada Maxima « à lèvre dorée ». Leur couleur naturelle, chaude et dorée, est réputée très rare. Leur palette de couleur va du champagne clair à un doré profond et plus la couleur est soutenue plus les perles sont prisées. Cette huître peut également créer des perles blanches d'un blanc intense. Elles sont récoltées à une taille de 9 mm ou plus, et peuvent être rondes, ovales, en goutte d'eau ou d'une belle forme baroque.   


                   
                 
                                         

Perles de conque

                    

Histoire

                    

Ces perles naturelles sont récoltées dans les conques "un Strombus Gigas" à la coquille épaisse qui vivent dans les Caraïbes et le Golfe du Mexique. Les perles de conque de la plus grande qualité se caractérisent par une structure « en flamme ».


                   
                 
                                         

baroque

                    

Histoire

                    

La beauté naturelle des perles de culture baroque des Mer du Sud MIKIMOTO provient de leur superbe lustre. Les formes uniques et organiques de ces perles en font une véritable déclaration de mode. Chaque gemme, apparemment un polaire opposé de la perle ronde traditionnelle, est un morceau de conversation.


                   
           
           
              
PRÉCÉDENT:
              
SUIVANT:
           
        
     
     
              
  

Choisir une longueur de rang

Quelques considérations simples vous aideront à choisir la longueur de collier qui vous convient, en fonction de votre style et de votre mode de vie.

Image Description ici

Pour les femmes de tous âges

Les femmes dans la Vingtaine commencent souvent leur collection avec des colliers de perles plus courts et de petite taille portés à la base du cou.  Optez pour une longueur Choker ou Princess pour un look jeune et tendance.

Les femmes dans leur trentaine et au-delà préfèrent la mode des colliers plus longs et aux perles de culture de plus grosse taille pour une touche d'élégance afin d' illuminer le visage.  Les longueurs Opéra et plus longues sont préférées pour leur polyvalence, étant donné que ces colliers peuvent être doublés ou triplés autour du cou.

Un conseil simple

En cas de doute, suivez ce conseil simple : les colliers longs de perles de culture de plus grosse taille confèrent un certain degré d’élégance : Les colliers plus courts, bien que classiques et chics, peuvent facilement être portés en toutes occasions. Donc si vous êtes sportive, optez pour un collier court, si vous êtes sophistiquée, optez pour un collier long.

Vous n’arrivez toujours pas à vous décider ? Optez pour la longueur moyenne Princesse qui sied à tous les styles et toutes les encolures.

Mode

La tendance actuelle en matière de bijoux est à la superposition, donc n’hésitez pas à assortir vos colliers de perles de culture MIKIMOTO à d’autres colliers de différentes longueurs, couleurs et textures. Le look que vous créerez sera ainsi personnel et tout à fait unique.

Quel jour et à quelle heure êtes-vous disponible ?

Nous avons besoin de quelques informations vous concernant :

Par quel moyen souhaitez-vous être contacté(e) ?

De quoi aimeriez-vous parler ?

Nous reprendrons contact avec vous par e-mail